3M Economic Educator Awards 2012

Home Key Programs 3M Winners 2012


3M Economic Educator Awards 2012

Twelve teachers were recognized at the Econ Illinois Economic Education Day Award Luncheon on October 23.  Winners of the 2012 3M Economic Educator Awards were lauded for their outstanding commitment to economic education.  The award luncheon, sponsored by 3M, was held at the Union League Club of Chicago and attended by honorees, their guests, Econ Illinois Board members and supporters.

Outstanding Economic Educator Award winners

Criteria for the Outstanding Economic Educator award: A long-standing commitment to teaching economics in the classroom; promoting economic education in their school and district; continuous involvement in professional development programs and student-based programs enhancing economic education.  Teachers receive a plaque, a cash award and participation in a unique professional development seminar.  The winner's school receives a grant to promote economic education in the school's curriculum.

Helene Caliva, Robert E. Clow Elementary School, Naperville

Helene Caliva receives award

Helene is responsible for delivering gifted instruction to identified students and collaborating with K-5 school staff to deliver challenging enrichment opportunities for all students through differentiated instruction.    The variety of programs Ms. Caliva employs in her classroom and the comprehensive assessments she uses to measure student performance demonstrate her students' learning of critical reasoning at an early age.

Helene builds upon her knowledge of economic education by attending professional development workshops designed to support her work in the classroom, building a strong foundation for student achievement.  She extends her knowledge and the information she learns with school district colleagues which further multiplies enhanced student learning to a greater number of students.

Joan Kane, Whitney Young Magnet High School, Chicago 

Joan Kane receives Outstanding awardJoan is a dedicated teacher of business education, technology and entrepreneurship, who believes strongly in experiential learning.  Her students are actively involved in discussions about financial literacy issues and participate in the real-world activities, such as The Stock Market Game program and online business simulations.  Guest speakers are used to introduce students to divese viewpoints on how to plan their financial future.  Field trips to financial institutions, such as the Chicago Board Options Exchange and the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, demonstrate the workings of the US economy using real world experiences.

Joan is also commmitted to creating and providing resources for other business teachers in her school, Chicago Public Schools and the career and technical education communities.  Embedding technology in the curriculum is a core piece of Joan's teaching style enabling her students to track important economic information and data in their classes and to use their findings to expand their understanding of economics.

Stars in the Classroom Award winners

The Stars in the Classroom award recognizes teachers each year who have done an outstanding job of bringing Econ Illinois' signature economic education programs into their classrooms to benefit their students.  The teachers and their students have been winners in our Economics Poster Contest, The Stock Market Game program, Personal Finance Challenge or Economics Challenge in the past academic years.  They represent schools from around the state.  Shown in the picture with the Stars are Lori Berkes-Nelson, Econ IL; Bill Testa, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago; and Pam Piarowski, BMO Harris.

  • Carol Cochran, Grigsby Middle School, Granite City
  • Kerry DiFusco, Spring Brook Elementary, Naperville
  • Patrick Fardy, South High School, Downers Grove
  • Kathleen Gienko, St. Bartholomew School, Chicago
  • Dave Kush, Homewood Flossmoor High School, Flossmoor
  • Dave Meyer, Sycamore Middle School, Sycamore
  • Karen Sassetti, Proviso West High School, Hillside
  • Mirsad Spahovic, Theodore Roosevelt High School, Chicago
  • Alison Upton-Dunmore, South Elgin High School, Elgin
  • Terry Vaughn, Germantown Hills Middle School, Metamora

    Stars in the Classroom